Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.


Clongowes Union - Founded 1897

The Union Constitution states the objects of the Union to be:

  • To bring together the past students and to encourage friendly dialogue among them by social gatherings or in any other appropriate manner:
  • To support and assist Clongowes in its activities and its objectives for its present and future advancement and development and to support and promote the aims of the Society of Jesus by, among other means, active membership of the Jesuit World Alumni Association.
  • To promote and maintain close contact between past pupils and the current pupils, the staff and the Jesuit Community in Clongowes
  • To assist Clongowes Youth Club in its objectives and to provide, where possible, financial and other support including the provision of the expertise of the members of the Union
  • To provide financial support to necessitous past students of Clongowes or their dependants through the Clongowes Union Benevolent Fund
  • To support, by way of membership or in any other appropriate manner, any other association or organisation whose objects are compatible with the foregoing objects of the Union.

In today's society, and in the context of today's Clongowes, it is important that the emphasis of these objects is promoted to meet the needs of the extensive alumni network in a real and tangible way. It is proposed that the focus for today's Constitution will build from the encouragement of friendly dialogue among them by social gatherings to the development and maintenance of a deep and comprehensive database to support today's alumni in an appropriate manner and especially through networking.

2022 Committee

Peter O'Meara (88) President

Shane Dowling (83) President-Elect

Jonathan White (86) Junior Vice President

Tom Lane (81) Past President

Michael Sheil SJ (54) Rector

Chris Lumb School Headmaster

Jonathan White (86) Hon Secretary

Dan O'Leary (83) Hon Treasurer

Barry Bowen (01) Hon Registrar

Brian Cusack (90) Member

Padraig Whelan (89) Member

Marcus Nolan (16) Member

Michael Doyle (15) Member

Rory Morrin (21) Member

Richard Feighery (02) Member

Maeliosa Power (89) Member

Paddy Spicer (89) Member

Willie Burns (79) - 125th Year Committee Member

Paul Dowling (81) - 125th Year Committee Member

Colm Maloney (97) - 125th Year Committee Member

Laurence K. Shields Trustee

William F. O'Grady Trustee

This website is powered by